Connect with us


Oyo LG Polls: OYSIEC initiates vote counting and result announcement



Initiating the process of counting votes and announcing election outcomes in different regions of Oyo State is the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC).

According to reports from NewsNow, the commission successfully conducted the local government election across all 33 local government areas of the state on Saturday.

Our correspondent witnessed the vote counting and result declaration in various polling stations in Ibadan, the capital city, including Ido, Ibadan North, Ibadan North East, Ibadan South East, Ibadan South West, and Ibadan North West local government areas.

Voting has been completed in several polling stations, with the commission officials commencing the counting and announcement of results.

NewsNow points out that election results have been announced in a number of polling stations in Ibadan North local government area, as well as in other local government areas.

Our correspondent, upon visiting Ward 9 in Ibadan North local government, witnessed the announcement of election results in some polling units.

For example, in Ward 9, polling unit 6 in Ibadan North local government, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) attained 40 votes in the chairmanship election, while the All Progressives Congress (APC) received 10 votes. Three ballot papers were invalidated. Similarly, in the councillorship election, PDP secured 40 votes and APC received 11 votes, with two ballot papers invalidated.

In Unit 5, Ward 9 of Ibadan North local government, PDP gained 117 votes in the chairmanship election, as opposed to APC’s 9 votes. Four ballot papers were invalidated. In the councillorship election, PDP received 110 votes and APC obtained 15 votes, with one ballot paper invalidated.